Gamer Limit Banner

Activision’s long running Guitar Hero series is set to further shred the saturated market this September with the release of Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, the direct sequel to Guitar Hero 5. The game will feature an all new story-driven Quest mode, narrated by Gene Simmons from KISS, that will have players trek from New York clubs to molten lava fields in a bid to save rock and roll from “The Beast” – this is already sounding a trifle familiar.

A new gameplay mode entitled Quickplay+ has also been announced, which will feature 13 new challenges for every song including Band Streak, High Score and Power Challenge. A brand new guitar peripheral is also said to be in the works, and is said to reflect the game’s art style with an emphasis on shredding.

90 songs will feature in the final setlist, with a focus on more rock-centric tracks than in Guitar Hero 5, making it the largest collection of tracks to be found on disc to date. A listing of the songs that have been confirmed for Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock so far can be found after the break.

  • AFI – “Dancing Through Sunday”
  • Anthrax – “Indians”
  • Avenged Sevenfold – “Bat Country”
  • Black Sabbath – “Children Of The Grave”
  • Buzzcocks – “What Do I Get?”
  • Children Of Bodom – “If You Want Peace… Prepare For War”
  • The Cure – “Fascination Street”
  • Def Leppard – “Pour Some Sugar On Me (Live)”
  • Dethklok – “Bloodlines”
  • Dire Straits – “Money For Nothing”
  • DragonForce – “Fury of the Storm”
  • Drowning Pool – “Bodies”
  • Fall Out Boy – “Dance, Dance”
  • Foo Fighters – “No Way Back”
  • Foreigner – “Feels Like The First Time”
  • The Hives – “Tick Tick Boom”
  • Jane’s Addiction – “Been Caught Stealing”
  • Jethro Tull – “Aqualung”
  • KISS – “Love Gun”
  • Linkin Park – “Bleed It Out”
  • Megadeth – “Sudden Death”
  • Metallica & Ozzy Osbourne – “Paranoid (Live)”
  • Muse – “Uprising”
  • My Chemical Romance – “I’m Not Okay (I Promise)”
  • Night Ranger – ” (You Can Still) Rock In America”
  • Nine Inch Nails – “Wish”
  • The Offspring – “Self Esteem”
  • Queen – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
  • Rammstein – “Waidmanns Heil”
  • The Rolling Stones – “Stray Cat Blues”
  • Silversun Pickups – “There’s No Secrets This Year”
  • Slayer – “Chemical Warfare”
  • Slipknot – “Psychosocial”
  • Stone Temple Pilots – “Interstate Love Song”
  • ZZ Top – “Sharp Dressed Man (Live)”

Personally, I can’t say I am very moved by the new direction the series seems to be heading in, as the quest story mode goes against everything Guitar Hero once stood for. Is this the renovation the series needs or does it scream of a declining band selling out? Let us know by leaving a comment below.

  1. avatar Ferahtsu

    It’d be better without the wiener rock bands. Activision will never achieve a dignified list of good rock music if they keep targeting kids with no taste in music.

  2. I’m not a fan of the Guitar Hero series, but it is nice to see that they are doing something more interesting for this next installment.

  3. The author dealt with a number of interesting points in this posting. I came across it by using Yahoo and I must admit that I am now subscribed to your site, it is quite great ;)

Leave a Reply